Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food
Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food
Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food

Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food

  • Publish Date: 2009-07-06
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Gary Paul Nabhan Ph.D.
Regular price $32.43 Sale price $14.40

The first manifesto of the local food movement, and it remains one of the besteloquent, bracing, and full of vital information. Michael Pollan

In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Henry David Thoreau, Gary Paul Nabhan relates how his experience with food permeates his life as an avid gardener and forager, as an ethnobotanist and farmland conservation advocate, and as an activist devoted to recovering place-based heritage foods. Nabhan spent a year trying to eat only foods grown, fished, or gathered within 220 miles of his homewith surprising results.Already considered a landmark in the locavore movement, Coming Home to Eat makes us understand how finding and eating local foods connects us deeply and sensually with where we are [and] why the everyday choices we make about food are the most important choices we make (Alice Waters, chef/owner of Chez Panisse).12 drawings

Customer Reviews