Lilac Girls: A Novel
Lilac Girls: A Novel
Lilac Girls: A Novel

Lilac Girls: A Novel

  • Publish Date: 2016-04-05
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Author: Martha Hall Kelly
Regular price $41.14 Sale price $15.38

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER For readers of The Nightingale and Sarahs Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Carolines world is forever changed when Hitlers army invades Poland in September 1939and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrck, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continentsfrom New York to Paris, Germany, and Polandas Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

USA Today New and Noteworthy Book LibraryReads Top Ten Pick

Harrowing . . . Lilac illuminates.People

A compelling, page-turning narrative . . . Lilac Girls falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. Its smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read.Fort Worth Star-Telegram

A powerful story for readers everywhere . . . Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of historys most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered. . . . I was moved to tears.San Francisco Book Review

Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannahs The Nightingale and Anthony Doerrs All the Light We Cannot See.Library Journal (starred review)

[A] compelling first novel . . . This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kellys vivid depiction of history and excellent characters.Publishers Weekly

Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbrck.Kirkus Reviews

Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of historywomens historythat should never be forgotten.Lisa See,New York Timesbestselling author ofChina Dolls

Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly . . .the best book Ive read all year.Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Customer Reviews