• Publish Date: 2011-12-06
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Ariana Reines
Regular price $33.05 Sale price $22.60

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

This astonishing young poetstill in her twentiesis surely destined to be one of the crucial voices of her generation.Michael Silverblatt, Bookworm

Composed in the direct, accessible, consciousness-piercing style readers of Ariana Reines first two books are wildly enamored of, Mercury comprises a group of long poems. These interlocking works speak to the substance and essence of what is said, transmitted, transacted, communicated between persons. Reines proposes that substance and essence are opposites, and explores this in contexts including commercial cinema and internet porn.

Your music makes me feel lonely
Your music makes me feel lonely
Your music
Makes me feel lonely
Picking a lemon
Late at night
My heart tightens
I fear nature
Your music makes me feel lonely
I must be responsible for it
Im alive
I have this hair helmet on
Im so alive
I say yes to the megaplex
You say its awful isnt it awful
I say yeah
So what. Something sentimental
This place
I agree
Were gonna go into the movie
. . .
The day is long enough
The day is long enough
The day is so long enough

To contain all this and more

Customer Reviews